Mini Fox / Kitsune Mask, Unpainted

Apparently my creativity does not extend to blog post titles.

Ahem.  Anyway, I thought I’d give a little preview of what I’m working on.  I’m into maskmaking these days.  I love the idea of wearable sculptures, of becoming a whimsical creature, if only for a few hours a year.  When you’re not wearing the mask, you can hang it on the wall and enjoy the art year-round.

    Pictured below is not a finished wearable mask, but a (roughly) half-scale prototype, in polymer clay.  I wanted to work out the design and form before committing to the full-scale piece, which is what I’m working on now.  But, once the mini is painted, I’m thinking it’ll be a pretty cool finished piece in its own right.

    I’d love to hear what you think, and also, tell me what other kinds of masks you might like to see me create!

    Mini Fox Mask

    ~ by eirewolf on March 31, 2009.

    12 Responses to “Mini Fox / Kitsune Mask, Unpainted”

    1. From what I see she looks great! Only half the picture wants to download!grr. cat wait to see your progress!
      I love the kitsune. its one of the coolest tales. One of these days I have to make one. Ive saved kitty whiskers! I almost hve enough!

      • Thanks Nita! I didn’t know you read my blog; that makes me smile. 🙂

        I save cat whiskers too! My mom saves them for me from her cats too.

        I’m not sure why the pic isn’t loading! Hmmm… Try this: http://is.gd/10i7D

    2. this is awsome looks really good, so i was wondering how much it would cost me to get you to make me a fox mask like this one and also possibly a bear one too, you see im in an electro band and me and my friend are thinking about what our symbol is going to be when we go annonymous, and i think a fox and a bear would go down quite well. please email me!!

    3. I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

      I’m Out! 🙂

    4. Hello my name is ivan rocha and i want to now if you can make a mask like this buth with out mask for the people can see my mouth, and how much? the price 😛
      iam from México Monterrey N.L

      • Hi Ivan; thank you for your interest! It will be at least several months before I make masks to wear. I want to perfect my technique before I sell them, and I have several sculpture commissions to finish before I get back to mask-making. Please watch this blog’s RSS feed, or I can put you on my mailing list if you would like to give me your email address. Thank you!

    5. Hi there, I was wondering how much it would cost for a commision on your fox mask? =]

      • Hi Starlette; thanks for your interest! I am not taking mask commissions at this time, but I plan to in the future. You can watch this blog’s RSS feed for announcements, or I can put you on my mailing list if you’d like. Just let me know! 🙂

    6. This is an amazing project! You are very talented. I appreciate your interest in wearable masks.

    7. hey i am really interested in having two custom masks/helmets made. please email me at aethirium@live.com and we can go over pricing/details.
      thanks!

    Leave a Reply

         
