Early Works…

(We’ll be revisiting my childhood today, which makes me think of my mom.  I’d like to mention that she has a shiny new shop on Etsy, where she offers her gorgeous handmade cards and jewelry — check it out! And now back to our regularly scheduled programming.)  😉

I always like to see early work by my favorite artists.  Oftentimes, it gives me hope; it lets me see that they didn’t spring from the womb at their current skill level.  They actually did practice and hone their talents for years to get where they are today.  (I don’t think it’s coincidence that many of the artists that I look up to are from my parents’ generation!)

I was going through some old boxes of stuff this week, and found a portfolio of some artwork I did back in my schoolgirl days.  I decided to share a few of them, as a journey of nostalgia for me and hopefully as an encouragement to someone else.  I’m only 32, and I have a long way to go in developing my talents, but I think (I hope!) I’ve come a long way since I created these.  They don’t have dates on them, but I believe they’re roughly in order of most recent (probably early high school) to earliest (sometime in elementary school).  The first pic is one of my first sculptures ever, a centaur — I wish I had a full profile shot so you could see how completely amateur it was.  Well, I think you get a hint of it… I was trying for realism.  O_O

Enjoy!  😀

-)

A centaur I sculpted in high school -- one of my first sculptures ever (and it shows)! 🙂

A young unicorn stallion watching the storm.  This was one of my favorite drawings when I was younger.

A young unicorn stallion watching the storm. This was one of my favorite drawings when I was younger.

A gold-adorned dragon watching a squirrel.

A gold-adorned dragon watching a squirrel.

-)

A uni-dog-tiger-beaver-thing. My imagination was rather wild back then -- hopefully it still is! 🙂

-)

I'm not sure what this guy is, or what he plans to do with those tools. More evidence of a very active imagination! 🙂

On the back of this drawing, I had written, "A Sabre-Toothed Whatchamacallit."  Apparently my imagination didn't extend to creative titles.  ;-)

On the back of this drawing, I had written, "A Sabre-Toothed Whatchamacallit." Apparently my imagination didn't extend to creative titles. 😉

~ by eirewolf on July 22, 2008.

2 Responses to “Early Works…”

  1. This is so awesome- I love seeing your early work! And it’s obvious you’ve always been creative! =)

Leave a Reply

 
