My latest sculpture, and entry for Matt Dangler’s monster contest! Please vote!

I have had the great pleasure of participating in the contest of fellow artist Matt Dangler, the goal of which was to create something (all mediums welcome) inspired by Matt’s surreal and quirky paintings of fantasy creatures and “monsters.” I chose to create a sculpture that I hope reflects not just one of his creatures, but has a feel for his whole body of work. I had so much fun with this. 🙂

Click here for Matt’s web site, so you can check out his wonderful imaginative creations.
(The contest guidelines are on the home page; scroll down and highlight to see the text.)

This is my entry for the contest; it’s called “Candy is Dandy”:

Dangler Monster Contest Entry

Click here for more (and larger) pictures.

And here is where you can vote! (You don’t have to provide any info or sign up for anything first.)

I will not say “Please vote for ME!” I would rather you vote for the entry you like best, and if that’s my sculpture, then… Yay! 🙂

His blog post (where you vote) is an interesting read, too. He speaks of the goal of the contest, and the goal of his art; it may strike a chord in many of us.

~ by eirewolf on March 3, 2008.

6 Responses to “My latest sculpture, and entry for Matt Dangler’s monster contest! Please vote!”

  1. Wow! Really great!! It’s very bright and colorful, but has great texture. It reminds me of Dr. Suess. Did you use a real stick and paint it? Very cool all around.

  2. Thank you very much! I love Dr. Seuss. 🙂

    I sculpted the stick. I wanted to use a real one, but I needed something that conformed to the sculpture and still looked real.

  3. I like the stick and rock idea too. It’s very interesting.

  4. Thank you Mary! Your entry is wonderful as well; the colors are fantastic!

  5. Hands down yours is the best one by far and is very much akin to Matt’s body of work.

  6. What a precious, creative piece! Evey detail is just fantastic! I think my favorite parts, though, are the expression on the little guy’s face…and the rock to weight the stick. Too clever.

    I enjoyed Matt’s blog and I cast my vote! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
