Touchstone for a New Year

Dear readers: Happy New Year! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been away too long. But I won’t be making any New Year’s resolutions (to be a better blogger, or anything else). Those silly things don’t work, and they only serve Guilt on a silver platter. As I am determined to shrug off all false guilt (of which I got a hefty helping over the holidays), resolutions are definitely not for me. Not this year. Not this artist.

I did hear of a much better idea, though, from Christine Kane (songwriter, performer, and inspirer-of-creativity). In her blog entitled “Resolution Revolution: A Better Way to Start Your Year,” she talks about Being instead of just Doing. This struck a chord in me that has been resonating below the surface of my mind for a long time now.

Sure, I could make resolutions to Lose Weight, to Eat Healthy and Exercise Regularly, to Get More Stuff Done, to Become Faster and Better at Sculpting. And all those things would be good to do. But they do not go to the core of my Being. They do not, in themselves, make me a better person.

My main project over the last few (blog-silent) months has been to scan old photos that my parents have, photos largely from my and my sister’s childhood, to preserve them from entropy and decay and further yellowing. As I slogged through hundreds of photos of that child so far removed from my adult self, I began to realize that I’ve lost something. That child had an easier smile, a deeper sense of wonder, and far, far less cynicism than her adult version. Her life was less than perfect, certainly, but she still owned a pair of rose-colored glasses. Those glasses are long gone, and I’m not saying that I want them back. I don’t miss being ignorant and callow. (Well, maybe a little. Less was expected of me then.) But I do miss the childlike optimism, the awe of new things, the ability to laugh out loud unreservedly and to immerse myself in play. To just be silly and enjoy every bit of life.

Perhaps I’m painting too rosy a picture from Kodak moments. I know the child Me wasn’t always happy-go-lucky. But in some ways, I miss being her.

I miss the joy, the delight of being a child.

Which brings me back to Christine’s blog. She suggests choosing a word to be your guide, your focal point, your touchstone, throughout the year. A Be word that will inform your Doing.

I choose Delight. I want to delight in everything I do, to savor every moment, even the little things. Especially the little things. I choose to shrug off cynicism and negativity and to embrace laughter and love and joy.

I see that I’m talking in “Do” terms. Okay. I choose to Be Delighted. ๐Ÿ™‚

Delight

What will you choose?

~ by eirewolf on January 1, 2008.

8 Responses to “Touchstone for a New Year”

  1. Erin – sounds like a wonderful way to embrace the coming year – I know for certain that your work is a source of delight for me!
    Btw – sweet picture of you in your kitty t-shirt!!
    Happy 2008 ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I too miss the delight of being a child – and yet who is it who says once we are grown that we must lose that delight? I think I will choose ‘reclaim’ as in reclaiming the joy of all that I see and do.

    Thanks again for the inspiration!

  3. Tammi, thank you so much. I hope you know that I feel the same way about your wonderful creations. ๐Ÿ™‚

    MistahBlue, thank you for commenting. I don’t know who said that, but he must be a miserable person. We have a choice in the matter.

    Here’s to reclaiming joy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you for visiting and commenting on my blog! I’m working with one-word goals this year in place of resolutions, too. The ones I’ve chosen are:

    Love

    Take Action

    Step Forward

    Just Notice

    Your post was lovely–I noticed that right off! :-):-) Happy 2008!

  5. Thank you, Christine! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like your chosen words.

  6. Erin, you are right. We are on a similar journey. I think it’s a good place to be. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love the pic, too. So unreserved. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Thank you, Amy! I wish I could still be so unreserved these days. I’m workin’ on it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. […] a new tradition of choosing a touchstone word for the new year instead of making resolutions.ย  (You can read about that here.)ย  That year, my word was Delight.ย  Since then, I’ve chosen Boldness, and Focus… and […]

Leave a Reply

 
